Brown Rice with Kale & Spring Onions

A few bits of housekeeping to do: first, I’d like to thank everyone who has read my blog in this inaugural week. I’ve been absolutely bowled over. Thank you for all the likes, and just thank you so much in general for reading. It seems to have hit the ground running, whereas with my old blog it took me months before I even got a comment or a ‘like’! Not that anyone should measure blogging by those markers, but anyway, I wanted to thank you all for the kind words and encouragement. Group hug. Secondly, please go and check out the gorgeous Vegetarian Ventures blog. It’s absolutely beautiful, and I’ll be hopefully making a few things from it over the next couple of days! Oh, and the author likes David Bowie. YES.  Will be sure to link back for those recipes that I use 🙂

Thirdly, I’m FREAKING OUT because I don’t have a sugar-free, vegan cake recipe for the Jubilee weekend yet. Stay posted though. I’ll conquer the cake. And lastly, if you’re a very lovely person and you’d like to make an old man happy – wait, I’m a young girl, but old man sounded catchier – I’d love for you to ‘like’ me on Facebook. It’s for your own good, I promise! I’m going to be putting up some cooking videos, which will ONLY go on the Facebook page at first, so if you’d like a slice of that vegan pie, hop over. I’ll be so grateful! It looks terribly sad on there at the moment…

Ok, recipe…I can’t claim this to be my own, I’m afraid, but hey, it’s good to share. This is from Gwyneth Paltrow’s cookbook, which I love. People can be very rude about it, which I don’t think is fair. The style is chatty and informal, and the recipes are delish. I also wanted to post a super healthy recipe, as I’ve done a lot of very sweet ones lately.

Gwyneth Paltrow’s Fried Brown Rice with Kale & Spring Onions

Serves about 4 – depending on whether you have it as a main or make something with it

225g kale, stems discarded
1 ½ tbsp vegetable oil (or olive oil)
2 cloves garlic, peeled and very finely chopped
3 large spring onions, cut into 3mm diagonal slices
175g brown rice, cooked
1 ½ tbsp soy sauce

1. Cut the kale into thin lengths, then steam for about 7 minutes.

2. Heat the oil in a large pan over a medium-low heat. Add garlic and cook, stirring, for two minutes – don’t let the garlic change colour. Raise heat to medium and add the kale and spring onions. Cook for two minutes. Add the rice and cook for another two minutes, stirring.

3. Add the soy sauce and cook for 30 seconds more.

Benefits Low in saturated fat/No cholesterol/Very low in sugar/Very high in manganese/Very high in vitamin A/Very high in vitamin C

3 responses to “Brown Rice with Kale & Spring Onions

    • She does indeed! It’s a lovely book, and had meat and fish as well as vegetarian/vegan. That’s such a weird coincidence – I was just looking at a recipe that called for black rice. I’ve never come across the stuff before!

Leave a Reply

