Strawberry & Sage Part Two: Lemonade

‘Strawberry & Sage’ really sounds like a hippie singing duo from the 60s…am I right or am I right? Anyway, today was the second part of my experiment with the combination, and I wanted something refreshing for drinking in the sunshine. Well, luckily I finished drinking it ten minutes ago, because the sun has completely gone in and the clouds are busting out. I ❤ you, England! The weather always keeps you guessing. I was happy with how this turned up, but I tailored it to my specific tastes. Everyone has their own favourite lemonade, whether it’s so sour you make weird faces when you drink it, or sugary sweet…I encourage you to tweak it according to your preference.

Oh, by the way. Adding vodka to this would make a KILLER hard lemonade. Think I’ll definitely be serving this the next time I do a dinner party!

Strawberry & Sage Lemonade

Makes about 4 servings

3 lemons
6/7 strawberries
2 tbsp agave nectar
2 cups water
Small handful of sage

1.  Squeeze the lemons and strain them into either your blender or a bowl for your hand mixer. Chop the strawberries and add those too, along with the agave and sage.

2. Blend until well mixed.

3. Taste it and decide whether you want it sweeter or sharper, and add accordingly.

4. Add the water slowly, tasting regularly to make sure it isn’t losing flavour. Enjoy!

You can bottle it before adding water and use it like a cordial/switch sage for basil/make it sweeter with actual sugar/add orange flavours too/add gin or vodka!/

Nutritional info per serving calories: 43/calories from fat: 1/total fat: 0.1g/dietary fibre:1.8g/Vitamin C: 41%/

Benefits very low in saturated fat/no cholesterol/very low in sodium/high in dietary fibre/very high in Vitamin C/

But very high in sugar

Leave a Reply

