Apple Pie Porridge

Or, apple pie oatmeal, but I’m English, so it’s porridge!

Oh, I know. Everyone has this recipe. Eeeeveryone. If my mum started a food blog tomorrow, she’d have this recipe. I think it’s because when you’re eating a vegan, sugar-free diet, you’re desperate to inject some fun into what should be a rather plain dish. I know it seems a bit weird to have porridge in May, but as I’ve said before, I love my big breakfasts. Also, predictably, the beautiful English weather has turned into a misty, slightly drizzly morning, so I feel justified in my breakfast choices. Now, I cooked the apples in coconut oil, which is a genius wonder food. I’ll expand on that another time, but it doesn’t come out as obscenely coconutty tasting as you might think. That said, if you abhor coconuts, probably give it a skip.

I also wanted to share some exciting news – I submitted a photo for Tastespotting yesterday, and didn’t really expect anything to come of it. For a start, it was of my avocados (steady on!) and I heard they don’t really accept too many ingredients shots. When I submitted, I didn’t realise how marginally terrifying the whole process is, and that I’d get some emailed feedback if I got denied explaining why the shot didn’t work. I used to be really rubbish at taking constructive criticism, but I just want to make my photos as good as possible, so I’m learning! Anyway….I got accepted! My avocados are now proudly sitting on the site. Absolutely chuffed. Even if the next 10 shots I send get rejected, I’ll still be happy!

So without any further ado, heeeere’s porridge!

Apple Pie Porridge

Serves 1

40g oats
135ml water

135ml soya milk 
1/2 tsp cinnamon
Grated nutmeg

Topping:
1 small apple
1/2 tbsp coconut oil
1/2 tbsp maple syrup 
1/2 tsp cinnamon

1. Measure the oats, water and milk and put them in a heavy bottomed pan on a medium-high heat. Add the spices and stir regularly until the oats have absorbed the liquid.

2. While the oats are cooking, start work on the topping. Heat the coconut oil in a shallow pan until it becomes liquid.

3. Quarter the apple and slice it into moderately thin sections, and add to the coconut oil over a medium heats, and once coated add cinnamon.

4. Keep turning the apples until they turn a darker colour, then drizzle maple syrup over them and continue to heat.

5. I cut some apples up and put them in the porridge, then arrange the rest on top.

You can use pears/use almond milk in place of soya/sprinkle chopped walnuts on top/peel apples if you don’t like the skin/add vanilla extract to the porridge/use all milk instead of half milk, half water/

Nutritional info per serving calories: 395/calories from fat: 109/total fat: 12.1g/cholesterol: 0mg/total carbohydrates: 65.0g/proten: 10.3g/

Benefits no cholesterol/low in sodium/very high in manganese/

But high in sugar

Leave a Reply

