Match Made in Heaven: Strawberry and Sage

So, my discovery of strawberry and sage together was an accident. I was preparing the sauce for my sweet potato gnocchi (recipe coming soon!), and I’d just put the sage into the pan. Opening the fridge, I decided to grab a strawberry just to tide me over. My hands had the scent of the sage on them, which transferred to the strawberry – and…OH MY GOD! Taste revelation! I was bowled over. I’ve heard of strawberries with basil, strawberries with balsamic vinegar, or strawberries with black pepper, but not strawberry and sage.

I spent the next few days mulling over what I could do with this new found knowledge. I considered a purée, but wasn’t sure it would work. I thought of a salad, but again discarded it. Of course, any kind of cakes were out – and anyway, I wanted to keep the freshness. So I came up with three different recipes. The first is a dressing, which you can use on salads or whatever you like, quite frankly. The second is a Summer classic with a twist: strawberry and sage lemonade, and the third is a strawb and sage iced tea. I can’t tell you how happy I am I found this out by accident!

I was surprised at how this subtle this actually turned out when used on a salad, so you may want to tweak it in a different direction according to your own tastes. Also according to the taste of your strawberries, sage and other ingredients. I’ll put some options at the bottom!

Strawberry & Sage Balsamic Dressing

Serves 4 (and possibly even more!)

4/5 strawberries (vary this on how big they are)
4/5 sage leaves (ditto)
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp agave nectar  
1 tsp balsamic vinegar
Pinch coarse salt
Black pepper to taste

Really simple, this. Just blend them all up! Keep tasting and adjusting accordingly.

You can use more balsamic and/or lemon for a tangy taste/use more sage/ =use pink peppercorns instead of black/use a bit of mustard/use crushed garlic/

Nutritional info per serving calories: 48/calories from fat: 33/total fat 3.7g/cholesterol: omg/sodium: 60mg/total carbohydrates: 4.2g/Vitamin C: 14%/

Benefits no cholesterol/very high in Vitamin C/

But high in sugar.

Leave a Reply

